June 28, 2019

Bringing Mindfulness to the Oireachtas

Left to right UK MP Chris Ruane, Éilís Cullen, Michael Griffith, Mary Lovegrove, Dr Tony Bates, Jamie Bristow (UK Mindfulness Initiative), Niamh Bruce and Clare O’Connor

Mindful Nation Ireland is supporting the introduction of mindfulness in Leinster House.  This initiative was inspired by the success of introducing mindfulness in the UK Parliament. In 2013 an All Party Political Group on Mindfulness in the UK parliament was established which led to the publication of a report called A Mindful Nation UK. This report makes recommendations for the implementation of mindfulness in the healthcare, justice and education sectors and well as across the corporate sector

In October 2018, an event was hosted by the Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó’Fearghail in Leinster House with UK MP Chris Ruane and Deputies Catherine Martin, Fiona O’Loughlin and Senator Frances Black. 

The Ceann Comhairle with Elected Members, UK MP Chris Ruane and Jamie Bristow from the UK Mindfulness Initiative and members of Mindful Nation Ireland Team

(L-R) Catherine Martin, Frances Black and Fiona O'Loughlin are behind the pilot programme
Deputy Catherine Martin, Senator Frances Black and Deputy Fiona O’Loughlin

Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó’Fearghail, Dr Tony Bates, UK MP Chris Ruane and Senator Jerry Buttimer